The winner and the loser.

BJP ousts Naveen Patnaik’s BJD after 24 years in power; what went wrong

BJP all set to form maiden government in Odisha; It won 78 seats of 147

Prashun Bhaumik | Bhubaneswar | 5 June, 2024 | 11:40 PM

BJP's saffron wave sweeps Odisha in the 2024 state assembly polls, ending BJD's long rule. BJP wins 78 Assembly seats, while BJD gets 51. A weak campaign by Naveen Patnaik compared to that of the BJP contributed to BJD's defeat.