Hasina’s grip on Bangladesh.

PM Sheikh Hasina secures fourth straight term amid Opposition boycott

Hasina’s Awami League won 222 of the 300 elected seats; only 40% voter turnout

Prashun Bhaumik | Dhaka | 08 January, 2024 | 11:10 PM

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s Awami League won the general elections on Sunday to secure a fourth consecutive term. The Awami League won 222 out of the 300 elected seats in Parliament. Hasina, 76, was re-elected to Parliament from the Gopalganj-3 constituency for the eighth time after bagging 2.49 lakh votes. She has held the Gopalganj-3 seat since 1986. Her nearest rival, M Nizam Uddin Lashkar from the Bangladesh Supreme Party, won only 469 votes.