Congress wins Karnataka.

Congress sprints past the post in Karnataka; love triumphs, says Rahul

Bommai accepts defeat, to step down; who will become Congress CM?

Prashun Bhaumik | New Delhi | 13 May, 2023 | 07:00 AM

Congress is set sweep BJP with a comfortable majority as the party continues to lead after several rounds of vote counting.

The Congress is sprinting its way towards victory in the Karnataka assembly election 2023 as it has now crossed way past the majority mark. BJP is losing its reign as it is set to finish well less than 70 seats leading incumbent chief minister Basavaraj Bommai to step down from the position today evening. The question remains whether Congress will pick Siddaramaiah or DK Shivakumar as next CM.

Earlier, Karnataka CM Bommai conceded defeat well before the declaration of final results. The BJP is ahead in 64 seats, according to latest trends on the Election Commission website. The JD-S, which was hoping to be kingmaker, is leading in 19 seats.

“Once the results come we will do a detailed analysis. As a national party, we will not only analyse but also see what deficiencies and gaps were left at various levels. We take this result in our stride,” Basavaraj Bommai said.

Exit polls had suggested that it will be a close race – one that will see the Congress emerge as the single-largest party but not with enough to cross the 113-seat mark.

Karnataka voted in a single phase and recorded a 73.19 per cent voter turnout, according to the state’s chief electoral officer.

‘No Modi hai to mumkin hai’: Sharad Pawar’s big message after Karnataka result

Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar gave a clarion call for the 2024 Lok Sabha election as the Congress is all set for a decisive win in the crucial Karnataka election. NCP too contested in Karnataka, but that was just an attempt, Sharad Pawar who was at the centre of the crisis in Maharashtra said.

Congress’ CB Suresh Baabu defeated State Minister and BJP candidate JC Madhu Swamy in Chikkanayakanahall, by a margin of 10,042 votes.

Congress party’s Pradeep Eshwar defeated State Minister and BJP candidate Dr. K Sudhakar in Chikkaballapur, by a margin of 10,642 votes.

PM Modi congratulates Congress on win

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday congratulated Congress for its win in the Karnataka assembly elections. “Congratulations to the Congress Party for their victory in the Karnataka Assembly polls. My best wishes to them in fulfilling people’s aspirations,” PM Modi tweeted.

What the Karnataka results mean for 2024 Lok Sabha polls

The remarkable Congress triumph in Karnataka is a huge accomplishment for a party that has struggled to find political success in the past decade.

Union minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar said the BJP accepts the result in the Karnataka assembly election and added that his party will work as a constructive opposition in the state. He further asked about Rahul Gandhi’s opinion on democracy as the Congress is making strides in the election result.

“Rahul Gandhi said abroad that there is no democracy in India. Today people should ask him what he thinks about democracy and EVMs,” he told ANI.

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge and AICC Karnataka in-charge Randeep Surjewala exchange sweets as the party is set to win the Karnataka assembly election.

Congress started its poll preparation way before BJP, CM Bommai said while explaining one of the key reasons for the right-wing party’s defeat in the Karnataka assembly election 2023.

“I take responsibility for this debacle. There are multiple reasons for this. We will find out all the reasons and strengthen the party once again for Parliament elections,” he told reporters.

Members of the transgender community wait outside a counting station in Mysuru to thank and bless four Congress leaders including Siddaramaiah.

“Siddaramaiah will be the CM and will do well for the transgenders and the poor,” one of the members was quoted as saying by ANI.

Reacting to the Karnataka election result 2023, National Conference leader Omar Abdullah said now the BJP will not have the courage to allow an election in J&K any time soon. The Union Territory is scheduled to go to the polls in 2023.
In the 224-seat Karnataka assembly, a party needs to win 113 seats to form the government in the state.

Congress is already ahead on 136 seats, while the BJP is leading on 63.

Outgoing Chief Minister and BJP leader Basavaraj Bommai has conceded defeat. “We have not been able to cross the mark. Once the results out, we will do a detailed analysis. We will find out the gaps and deficiencies, and we will reorganise the party and come back for the Lok Sabha elections,” he said.

All the focus now will be on who the Congress picks as their Chief Ministerial candidate.
Both state chief DK Shivakumar and senior leader Siddaramaiah are eyeing the post.

Congress leader Siddaramaiah said with the mandate for the party in the Karnataka assembly elections he hopes for Rahul Gandhi to become the prime minister of the country.

“The result of this election is a stepping stone to the Lok Sabha election. I hope all non-BJP parties come together and see that BJP is defeated and I also hope Rahul Gandhi may become PM of the country,” Siddaramaiah said.

This is Siddaramaiah’s moment in the sun and he is not missing any part of it to give a signal to the Congress high-command what exactly he wants following the thunderous win of the party in Karnataka. The same can be said about DK Shivakumar who was overwhelmed, emotional and sniffling at a press conference today.

“This (election result in Karnataka) will be a stepping stone for Congress’ victory in 2024,” Siddaramaiah said who had earlier appealed, sombrely, “This is my last election. I will retire from electoral politics”.

Who will become the chief minister? Exultant Congress needs to figure out.

Courtesy The Wire